A Week In San Francisco On A $310,000 Salary

Occupation: Registered nurse
Industry: Healthcare, intensive care
Age: 40
Location: San Francisco
Salary: Rather than earning a salary, I have a base rate of $114/hour. I work in a dynamic ICU that can be difficult to staff, so there are a lot of overtime and call shifts (both of which are entirely voluntary), for which I make time and a half. On the occasions I work 16-hour shifts (the maximum in California), hours 12 to 16 are double time. Last year I earned $310,000.
Assets: $135,000 in savings; $210,000 in a 403(b); $12,000 in an IRA; $15,500 in an investment account; and $18,500 is being held in escrow for a condo I’m trying to buy.
Debt: $18,300 for student loans from grad school.
Paycheck Amount (bimonthly): $6,000
Pronouns: She/her

Monthly Expenses
Monthly Housing Costs: $2,150 for a pretty decent-sized studio with garage parking included.
Monthly Loan Payments: $500 (student loans, paying double the minimum)
All Other Monthly Expenses:
Internet & Phone: $135
Electric: about $15
Health Insurance: $546 (about 90% of this is reimbursed)
Netflix: $12.99 (shared with my mom)
Max: $15.99
NYT: $12.9
Washington Post: $4
Spotify Family: $16.99 (shared with my mom)
Car Insurance: This varies according to how much I drive, but usually about $55.
403(b): I contribute 30% of my check pre-tax until it maxes out (I think it’s $23,000 this year), which happened around mid March this year.
Vanguard Account: $1,000 automatically invested
Traditional IRA: $300 (I’ll roll this into a Roth at some point.)
Amex Platinum: $695 (annually)
Chase Sapphire Reserve: $550. I’m thinking of changing this to the Preferred because the fees are high and there is a lot of redundancy with my Amex when it comes to benefits (I put everything except rent on my credit cards and pay off the balances in full every month).

Source link

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Shopping cart